A Life Update and a Crocodile

20140530_121229

So… I may have slacked off a bit regarding this blog.

Honestly, I practically forgot I had one for a while!

The last few months have been a little more busy than usual. I finished up the spring semester a few weeks ago (with an A, A-, and B+) and that took up most of my time. I may have mentioned before that I am a literature major, so you can imagine the crunch of paper writing leading up to finals. But now that’s over and I can relax…

…wait, no I can’t. There’s something else:

I’m 35 weeks pregnant.

No relaxing now! Too much to plan for!

The last few weeks have been spent slowly prepping the baby’s room. It took us a while to get started on the room because we were waiting for my brother to move out. We have painted the room a nice grayish-blue and yesterday the new carpet was installed. It’s so nice and fluffy! This weekend we will be putting the baseboards back and, hopefully, the closet racks and doors. And by “we,” I mean my husband. ;) I haven’t been able to help as much as I would have liked to. So, I’ve just been working on growing a baby.

Like the baby’s room, we have been slowly getting clothes, furniture, and other miscellaneous items. Truthfully, we don’t have a lot yet because we had been putting off shopping for quite a while. We have little storage space so we didn’t want to have piles of stuff just sitting around. We had offers to leave things at people’s houses, but I don’t like doing that. However, we did have the baby shower earlier this month and the presents (including a new crochet book!) are still at my in-law’s house! But that should all change as soon as the baby’s room is finished! :D

Aside from all the baby stuff, I haven’t been doing much crocheting. The only time I take out a crochet hook and yarn is when I have an Etsy sale… Needless to say, my inspiration for crocheting has been a little low. I like to focus on video game characters, but nothing has jumped out at me recently.

Since I haven’t had any of my own ideas lately (and because my husband told me to do something creative instead of watching tv), I decided to take out one of my crochet books and find something to make. You might recognize this book:

2014-01-15 14.28.48

I mentioned this book back in January (here) and posted my completed hat. I also mentioned that the next thing I would make from this book was the crocodile – I finally made it!

Crocodile Collage

(Note the new carpet!)

Such a cute little guy! It was really easy to make, too! The pattern used was “Niles the Crocodile” by Deb Richey. I used Red Heart with Love in “Lettuce” and a size “G” crochet hook.

(On a side note, I found out that the artist also has an Etsy store. While she doesn’t have this particular pattern listed, she does have a similar one.)

While I was making it, I was trying to decide what to do with the finished product. My mind was going through all the people I knew, and if they might be interested in a crocodile, but I think I’m just going to keep it. It’s just so cute and I think it’s a nice toy for the baby – not right away, of course! Though I think I attach pieces pretty well, I don’t want to risk any choking scenarios!

Well, I think I have talked enough! I just felt the need to post some sort of update and show that I haven’t given up on this blog!

That reminds me… apparently I had my one year blog anniversary recently! (Blogiversary?) Yay me!

Thank you to everyone who has followed me during this time and commented on my posts. :D

Until next time!

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

