An update on the Rubiks Cube & a WIP

Happy Hump Day!

This week seems to be flying by. Plans were made, broken, and sometimes frustrating but we’re almost done with the week! Yay!

I don’t know about anyone else, but the summer seems to be flying by. It’s already the middle of July! However, I couldn’t tell you what I have been up to. It feels like I have been busy and that is why time is going by so quickly but if I think back on what I have done so far… I can’t think of anything. Where has the time been going? It is starting to feel as though my summer has been wasted but I know it hasn’t!

Anyway… As you may recall, I was helping out with the assembly of large Rubiks Cubes (You can read about it here). I finally finished a whole cube and here is the result:

2013-07-13 15.32.16

All done!

I handed my cube off the other day to another participant to install for me. The goal was for 64 (I think) total cubes but, last I checked, only about 30 were made. So, we didn’t quite reach our goal but it will still look awesome!

Side note: It’s kind of silly, really, that we didn’t make it to 64. According to the Facebook page there were over 100 people participating! If 64 people made one cube each, it would have been easy as pie! But, alas…

Onto other things!

Last week I was in Las Vegas with my husband for a work trip. While he was off in class, I stayed in the air conditioned hotel room (it got to be quite boring). Luckily, I brought along some yarn to work with. I brought with me some black and red yarn to make another dragon for my sister and a few other colors.

After I finished the dragon, I started to crochet this Bellflower Infinity Scarf published by Caron Yarns.

2013-07-17 09.54.07

It is such a pretty color in person! I am using Caron Simply Soft in Ocean and it is so nice! What isn’t so nice is that I ran out of yarn before I finished so I had to wait until I got home to purchase some more. At the moment, the scarf is 47″ long but I want it to be a bit longer. It’s an infinity scarf after all!

The pattern is very easy to follow and looks beautiful.

2013-07-17 09.53.18

I finally bought another skein yesterday and am planning on finishing it shortly. All I need now is some cold weather! (not gonna happen ’til November…)

I am also working on something for my brother’s birthday next week. But, just in case he happens to read this (which I’m sure he doesn’t), I am not going to post any pictures until after!

Until next time!

Rachel

One thought on “An update on the Rubiks Cube & a WIP

Leave a Reply

