A Blooper and a Scarf

Oh, hello there!

Another week has passed us by. The summer is slowly coming to an end…

Well, at least to me.

As soon as the school year starts up again, whether you are a student or not, it feels like summer is done even though (at least here in Southern California) it’s still hot until late October. I will be heading back to school at the end of this month and, like always when it comes to school, I have mixed emotions. I enjoy it but at the same time I get really nervous/excited. Although, to tell you the truth, I get nervous/excited before I do anything! As of now, I am going to be taking a full load (12 units) but we’ll see what happens the first day of class. 😉

But I don’t want to think about this now!

Onto the crocheting!

Last Friday and Saturday I worked on a new plushie for our monthly mission in one of my Ravelry groups: Amigurumi Army. The theme this month was – dun da da dah! – Gamer’s Edition! Well, would you look at that? It’s my specialty! I get to kill two birds with one stone by participating in both the mission and making a new item for my shop! Yay!

I’ve been trying to make a list of different video game characters I want to make and one that has been on my (mental) list for quite some time is a “Blooper” from the Mario Bros. games. I figured why wait? Just do it! This is what came out:

2013-08-03 17.06.01

It’s not the greatest photo… I know. But he’s so cute! I am very happy with it and have already listed it in my shop.

On a side note, I have sold 4 items in the last week and I am super stoked! When you sell an item on Etsy, and also have the app on your phone, you hear a little “cha-ching” when someone purchases something from you. I love that sound…

Aside from the “Blooper,” I just finished working on another infinity scarf. This one is not as fancy as the last one I posted, but the color is AMAZING.

2013-08-07 16.32.08

This yarn is so bright an fun! It is Jo-Ann’s Sensations in Caribbean. This is the first time I have used this brand and it’s… okay. The colors are great but the yarn itself is not my favorite. It is 55% cotton, 37% acrylic, and 8% metallic. I don’t know if you can really see it, but it is a bit sparkly (the metallic). For this scarf I just did the basic single crochet stitch throughout. As I said, there’s fancy technique used for this scarf but I think the color of it more than makes up for that!

Well, that’s all I have for right now. Enjoy the rest of your week!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

