A Forever WIP (or so it seems)

I’ve been working on a blanket/afghan for quite a while now. But when I say working, I mean it in a very loose sense. I only work on it once in a while. And by once in a while, I mean about once a year. Maybe twice.

I started this blanket after we moved into our new condo. That was back in October of 2010.

2014-01-08 16.39.15

It’s a very basic afghan. I am using the jacquard technique which is simultaneously using two skeins of yarn throughout the entire process. **If you are unfamiliar with this technique, this website is helpful** I have made one before (and finished it!) but with that blanket I used single crochet. For this blanket, I used double crochet throughout and through the back loop only to give it a little texture.  Additionally, I switched between the two skeins every 5 stitches. With my previous blanket, which I might show another time, I alternated between 5 and 10 stitches.

2014-01-08 16.43.27

This is the hook that I have been using during this (long) process. It is a size “J” or 6 mm hook. As you can probably tell from the photo, this hook has been around the block a few times. This is probably one of the first hooks I ever used. My mom began showing me how to crochet towards the end of my high school years. It seems that I ended up taking it with me when I moved out!

One of the reasons this project is taking me so long is that I am making it to fit across our king size bed.

2014-01-08 16.40.35

Almost there! Sooooo close! I just want it to go up a little higher on the bed so it doesn’t fall off when we sleep.

2014-01-08 16.42.55

I really like how it looks. I chose to use Red Heart’s Baby Pink and Pink Camo. The reason you see only the camo on there is because I just ran out of baby pink! Back to the store I go! What’s nice about these two colors is that they have been in stock FOREVER and I have no trouble finding them. (Hopefully I didn’t just jinx myself!)

When I run out of yarn, or get tired of the repetition, I just fold it back up and place it back into its special bag.

2014-01-08 16.44.12

Yeesh. I think I need a new bag soon. It has holes everywhere!

Even though I’m not one for New Year’s resolutions, I think I will make this beast my goal for the year. I need to finish it! Right now it is taking up space behind the couch. As soon as I finish, I can wash it and place it on the bed (although, most likely it will go in the hall closet since it will be summer time)!

Kind of exciting, really. Something to look forward to for next winter!

Out of curiosity, what’s the longest WIP you’ve had? I know everyone has something!

Happy crocheting/knitting!

Leave a Reply

