Have you met Mr. Toast?

Picnic Time

(Click for Source)

I first met Mr. Toast in 2009.

My husband (boyfriend at the time) and I were heading out to Comic-Con here in San Diego. We were checking out the list of artists and exhibits and saw “Mr. Toast.”

“What the heck is Mr. Toast?” I asked (or at least I assume I did). So, we searched for it on Google and found the artist/writer’s webpage and I was in love!

A comic about a slice of toast? Yes, please! And he has a friend who’s an egg? What!?ย AND bacon?! A group of characters based on breakfast? What could be better!?

Needless to say, the Mr. Toast booth was what I was mostly looking forward to for my first trip to Comic-Con.

We met the artist/author, Dan Goodsell, and picked up a Mr. Toast plush and one of his comics:

Trip 1

Awesome.

The next year, we found ourselves in front of the Mr. Toast booth once again but entirely on accident! Unfortunately, I don’t recall whether we were at Comic-Con or Anime Expo… In any case, after this great surprise I returned home with a few more items for my “collection.”

Collection 1

The updated collection!

I now had Mr. Toast’s friend, Clem Lemon, the Superheroes comic, and some pins! Also, I don’t have it pictured but Mr. Goodsell was nice enough to give me a Joe the Egg necklace as a bonus! Yay!

It’s been a few years now and we haven’t had another chance to get back to Comic-Con (tickets sell out too fast). The other day, I was browsing through the Mr. Toast shop and decided that it was about time I added some more items!

Collection 2

The newest arrivals!

I ordered Joe the Egg, Shaky Bacon, some new pins, and two comics!

Comic bookย number 3 is so cute! Shaky Bacon wins a trip for two to Mexico so he and Joe head off on an adventure. My favorite part is when Joe signs them up to fight the luchador “Electric Taco.”

The Gang

The Gang

If you haven’t checked out the Mr. Toast comics before, you really should! Perhaps a hardcore comic-lover wouldn’t be too impressed…but if you like simple, cute comics (and breakfast) then this is for you!

You can find the Mr. Toast website hereย and from this you can access the comics, the shop, and other snazzy links.

Additionally, you can find Dan Goodsell’s blog here for more recent comics and information on upcoming events.

Fun stuff!

Go take a peek! ๐Ÿ™‚

Signature

I love signed things!

4 thoughts on “Have you met Mr. Toast?

  1. Laura B says:

    Sounds awesome! I’ve always wanted yo house to comic-con, haven’t made it yet! Thanks for the info on Mr. Toast and friends, it looks lรฎke a tastey diversion. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

