WIP – Buttered Toast Scarf

Hello, friends!

It’s been a while since I last posted, but there’s a good reason for this break in between posts: I had a baby!

He’s now 3 1/2 weeks old and (while there has been little sleep) time has flown by.

It’s really odd… you realize how short a day truly is. Also, your motto becomes “one day at a time” because no two days are the same. Each day you learn something new: what works and what doesn’t. For the most part, you just have to go with the flow and remain patient and calm (even when everything seems to go wrong).

I’ll probably have a post later on with more details on our new addition. πŸ™‚

Until then, this is what I was up to:

20140620_142303

Yeah, it’s toast.

A day or two before I went into labor, I started on this cute scarf. That’s right – it’s a scarf!

I got this pattern from Twinkie Chan’s “Crochet Goodies for Fashion Foodies.” It’s called the – wait for it – Buttered Toast Scarf. Dun dun dunnnn!

Here’s a link to the Pattern page on Ravelry. I like looking at the finished scarves from other members. Some are very creative such as adding jam to it (which I also considered doing but was too lazy).

Side note: If you need help with any of Twinkie Chan’s patterns, or want to join another snazzy group/forum, you can visit Twinkie’s Ravelry Group.

Β For the scarf, you will make about 16 slices of toast which you then sew together.

20140620_142511

20140620_142444

Obviously, my scarf is not complete and, truth be told, I don’t know when I am going to finish it… I should just do it. No reason why I can’t!

Anyway.

This scarf is highly customizable: If you want a longer scarf, add more toast. Is this for a child? Take away some toast. Make some slices with jam or other various toppings. Add other breakfast foods such as bacon and eggs! The possibilities are endless!

For my scarf, I used Red Heart in Buff, Cafe Latte, and Lemon (I felt color of Lemon was closer to butter than Bright Yellow).

Have you made any of Twinkie Chan’s patterns before? What did you make? This is the first pattern from her that I’ve done, but I’ve been following her for a while now. She is so fun and interesting (and she loves food/sweets!).

Until next time! πŸ™‚

Β 

Leave a Reply

