‘Tis the Season, I Guess.

Hello, hello!

I’m sure you don’t need a reminder… but can you believe it’s almost Christmas? I know, I know… we haven’t even had Thanksgiving yet. It bothers me as well to see so much Xmas stuff out already. I was actually surprised this year that there have been so many commercials for it so far. I thought there was this kind of unspoken rule that Christmas music, etc had to wait until Black Friday at the earliest but I guess that isn’t so… Oh well.

As much as I don’t want to admit it, I have started working on some Xmas ornaments the last couple of days. Mostly just trying out some patterns I found and a few of my own.

The first pattern I tried out was for these cute mini stockings that I found on my wordpress feed.

20141117_220825

The reason I chose this specific pattern was because the heel of the stocking is actually all part of the whole piece instead of a separate one that I would have to sew on. I don’t know how well I did it (I think I messed it up a bit) but you can’t really tell… so who knows? If I make more, I will be using a smaller hook and thinner yarn. The Red Heart seemed a bit too bulky for this one. Also, I will use another color (like white) on the heel to make it look better!

The next pattern I tried out was for these ornaments that I mentioned in my first Fresh Friday post.

20141117_221024

I love these little ornaments! It is such a fun pattern and super easy to do! You can use any colors you want so it’s easy to match your decorations. Like the stocking pattern, I think that thinner yarns (like the gold/white) work best because the Red Heart seems kinda bulky to me and makes the ornament a little too big. But that’s just me.

After I finished these, I went onto Pinterest to see what I could find on there.

I saw a picture of some granny square trees but there was no pattern attached to it. So, I tried to replicate it myself and this is what I came out with:

20141117_220924

While I basically got it, it didn’t quite have that tree shape to it. But then, while looking through my Ravelry queue, I noticed that I had a pattern for this type of tree on there! So I took a little peek to see how they gave it that tree shape and all they did was add in a slip stitch in between the four double crochets. So simple! Duh! So I altered what I did before and ended up with this:

20141117_220901

Much better! And, once again, I used a smaller yarn! Haha! I don’t know what it is… I just don’t seem to like the Red Heart right now. Hmm…

When I finished with those, I decided to try and make just a basic bauble ornament with those cute little yarns that I got for Xmas last year. This is what I came up with:

20141117_221102

While they aren’t exactly mind-blowing, I think they are really cute. Just a simple little ornament to add to your tree. 🙂 I’m going to try to make them in other shapes (eventually) so there will be a variety. This yarn is perfect for it!

Other than that, I haven’t been up to much else. Just finishing up the semester and trying not to slack off. I’m also looking forward to Thanksgiving. Mmmm… turkey! Maybe I should make some festive things for that? Perhaps make my son a turkey hat? Haha! No way. 😉

Have you found any neat Xmas ornament or decoration patterns? I want to see!

-Rachel

4 thoughts on “‘Tis the Season, I Guess.

Leave a Reply

