No-Face (Spirited Away)

Spirited AwayIt’s been a while since I have done a pattern make over.

You may recall (a long, long time ago) that I have trouble making faces for my amis. In that post, I gave you all a glimpse of an old project as one of my example of bad faces:

2013-07-15 12.39.57

If you are not familiar with it, this is No-Face from the animated film Spirited Away. Here is a picture from the film:

No-Face

(Click photo for source)

I attempted to make No-Face waaayyy back in 2012 for my brother. As I look back for my pattern, which I thought I had written down in its entirety, I have realized that I barely wrote anything down!

20150203_092304

Thanks, me. Thanks.

Look at the bottom of that… “Face” and “Mouth?” Are you kidding me? Hey, past self… what were you thinking? Oh, that’s right – I was just winging it because I had no idea what I was doing! At this point in time, I wasn’t yet writing out patterns to make them on a regular basis (my Etsy shop was still 9 months from opening). Besides, this was a gift!

But it’s been almost 3 years.

I think it’s about time I finish up this pattern. I hate leaving it incomplete. It’s still in Notepad for goodness sake! I put them all in Word Documents now. It must be transferred!

But first – a little update on the first No-Face:

This is No-Face.

This is No-Face.

He’s been experiencing life, going to school…

No-Face 2

Needless to say, he’s a little broke.

This parking ticket didn’t help things.

No-Face 3

He’s had to cut back a bit. Poor guy.

No-Face 4

…and that’s all I got.

I asked my brother to send me a picture of No-Face because I didn’t have any. He decided to be creative and sent me all of those. So, I felt I needed to give him a little story.

I’m not the most creative when it comes to storytelling… it’s hard enough for me to figure out what to write in my blog posts!

🙂

Well, after a few days of working on him on and off, I finally finished him!

I give you the new-and-improved No-Face!

New No-Face 2

I like this one so much better (but don’t tell my brother)!

For whatever reason, I made the first one with a weird-shaped head. I think I had a reason for it, but I can’t figure out what. I still have a slight shape to this one but it is very minimal.

I also changed the mouth a little bit. I added more teeth and it is slightly bigger but more clean.

And, of course, I took more care with the face itself to make it look a bit  neater. I used the face shape from my Shy Guy so it is less wonky than before.

Overall, I like how it turned out! He looks cute. Such a happy little guy!

Thanks for stopping by and have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

