Tuesday Newsday – New Hooks & Yarn

Hey, everyone!

I really don’t have much to say at the moment. My mind is drawing a blank. Maybe as I write this post, I’ll think of something and surprise myself.

Last week, as I was out shopping, I picked up a new crochet hook. Well, it’s really four hooks because it’s this fancy new 4-in-1 hook!

Travel Hook

I saw a post about this hook a while back and put one in my Amazon shopping cart. However, I never bought it and at one point they were out of stock. The other day, I was at Wal-Mart and briefly glanced in the yarn section as I usually do when I am there (which isn’t that often – if only Target sold yarn!). Lo and behold, up on the rack was the little hook! On impulse, rather than necessity, I plopped it into my cart and bought it.

I have yet to use it so I don’t even know what it’s like yet. From my first impressions, it seems like it will be a little awkward to hold with that rectangular plastic handle. I’m thinking of putting it in my purse for those crochet emergencies. 😉  It comes with sizes D, F, H, and J – the most commonly used hooks, in my opinion.

When I returned home, I was surprised to hear that my MIL had also bought some hooks for me. She had seen the 4-in-1 hook on my wish list but, as I said, they had been out of stock. Instead, she purchased a set of hooks that were also on my wish list:

Ergonomic Hooks

This is the Premium Crochet Hook Set. It includes 9 ergonomic hooks which are aluminum hooks covered in soft rubber. Such bright colors! I actually bought this same set for my mom last Christmas but I don’t know if she’s used them.

Now, onto the yarn!

As I mentioned, the yarn purchase wasn’t intentional. Well, it was and it wasn’t. Let me explain:

I had an order for a Bombette on Etsy. I knew I was a little low on the pink that I use, but I didn’t know how low! This was all I had:

Unfinished Bombette

I went to Michael’s last night to pick up another skein and thought it would be a quick in and out. However, as I looked down the aisle, this colorway was nowhere in sight! I use Red Heart With Love Bubblegum Pink and it seems they don’t carry this type anymore AT ALL. I don’t know if it has been discontinued or what – maybe I should look into that…

So, I looked around at the other colors to see if I could find a good substitute. I found these two skeins which I thought might work:

Bombette Yarn Options

These are Loops & Threads Impeccable Brights in “Lippy” and Vanna’s Choice Lion Brand in “Raspberry.” In hindsight, I shouldn’t have purchased the darker one because it was obviously way too dark. I don’t know why I did. The lighter shade seemed a bit too dark, but by the time I returned to the car I was convinced that it would be perfect.

When I got home I put them all together to compare:

Bombette Yarn Options - Failure

 Ack! Neither of them are a match!

What to do? What to do?

I could drive all the way to Jo-Ann’s and the other Michaels… or I can check Amazon!

Luckily, Amazon does have my “Bubblegum Pink!” Huzzah! Now I just have to wait until Wednesday – thank you, Amazon Prime 2-day shipping! This order needs to be sent out by next Tuesday. Thankfully, I changed my shipping/processing times a while back. I used to say 1-3 day. Whew! I’ll make it…

Oh, and I’ll be keeping the yarn. It was on sale! 😉

And now for something random:

Yarn Corner

My crochet corner. It’s very… boring. As we finish up with our new place, I hope to have a space set aside for my crochet things. Maybe even with my own fancy chair! 😀

Now, if you’ll excuse me, my 14-month old has woken from his nap.

See? Writing a post isn’t so bad once you just start writing! 😉

Have a great week! ❤

Leave a Reply

