Hello, 2017!

Hi, everyone!

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and rang in the new year the best way you could!

As you may have noticed, I have been quite absent recently – I apologize. Sometimes life can get in the way and, honestly, blogging has not been high on my list of priorities. It happens to the best of us.

The biggest news of 2016 was the birth of my second son!

chase-1-week

At 1-week old

As you can imagine, we were quite busy with preparations for our newest bundle of joy. He basically made us finally start all of the house repairs/decorating that we had put off for the last year. Our office was painted  (along with new furniture, etc) and turned into our oldest’s room, the nursery remained the same but freshly painted, our upstairs bedroom was painted and furnished to become our guest room, and the “bonus room” has now become our game room/office with non-squeaky floorboards, patched walls, and fresh paint. This all took quite some time and, since I was pregnant, I couldn’t really help with much of it… again. Luckily, we had a lot of help from my in-laws so it didn’t take too long (although the baby’s room wasn’t done until a few weeks after his birth. Hehe).

During the last year, I haven’t created any new patterns, but I hope to this year. We’ll call it a “goal” since it’s the new year and all. Maybe I will set my goal at 3-5 new patterns. Perhaps even some of them will be free patterns available to you! I just need to figure out what I’d like to make. If you’ve been a follower for a while (thank you!) you may have noticed that I tend to go towards the round characters. My husband says I need to branch out a bit and show off my skills, but the round ones are just soooooo easy. Is there anything that you would like to see? I need some inspiration… 🙂

Though I haven’t done much in the way promoting of my shop (or blog for that matter) I have still been gaining new followers and this last year was quite successful in regards to my shop. I was curious to see how my last few years compared to each other, so I checked them out:

etsy-stats-2013 etsy-stats-2014

etsy-stats-2015 etsy-stats-2016

It seems I am pretty consistent in the amount of orders! But what you (I) need to remember is that this is each order – not individual items. If you want to see how many items I sold, it goes like this:

  • 2013 – 37
    • Really it’s more like 33 or so. My MIL bought a few items when I first opened the shop to help get me started with some good feedback. 😉
  • 2014 – 30
  •  2015 – 34
  • 2016 – 43

It’s nice to see that the number is going up! It doesn’t seem like a lot, about 2 orders a month, but it’s a nice amount. I like the jump in sales in November/December (although I don’t at the time haha). I actually had some items made ahead of time so I was able to send them about a bit quicker. But I’m not going to lie – since I changed my processing time to 1-2 weeks, I definitely use that to my advantage. It’s much more relaxing and I don’t feel so rushed. However, sometimes my procrastination hits me hard and I don’t get it out until the last day. I’m bad, I know. I need to work on that. Maybe another resolution?

Anywho, I hope you have all been well and wish you the best for this new year! 🙂

-Rachel

20161222_104008

Merry Christmas! (4 months)

Leave a Reply

