WIP Wednesday 2/15/17

Hello and Happy (late) Valentine’s Day! I hope you had a wonderful day yesterday whether it was with friends, family, or your significant other! ❤

My Valentine’s Day went well starting off with introducing my 2 1/2-year-old to preschool! I won’t lie to you – during that less than 5 minute drive I went through just about every emotion possible. As one of my friends said, “Starting any child in school, whether elementary or preschool, is bittersweet.” And it truly is! It means that your child is no longer a baby (regardless of the fact that you still call him “baby” out of habit) and is turning into a kid. But the sight of him playing with the other 2-year-olds and doing school-related activities just made me so happy. He’ll only be attending one day a week for the time being (because the other class is full at the moment) but I believe it will still be enough for him for now.

20170214_144545

Valentine’s Day projects

 

After that adventure, it was really just our usual day aside from the beautiful roses my hubby surprised me with. 🙂

And now for the main part of this post: my WIP.

A few weeks back, I had to make a run to Jo-Ann’s to find some yarn for an Etsy order (Michael’s NEVER has what I want. Ugh). After I picked up what I needed, we browsed around the yarn section to see what deals they had going on. In a bin right outside the fiber area was this:

20170202_144454

So soft and fluffy!

 

Isn’t this just the oddest yarn EVER? It’s called the Bernat Home Bundle, and I’ve never seen it before. My MIL and I were so intrigued by this and wondered how it would look all worked up, that we bought 3 skeins of it for a small afghan. When I got home, and finished up my order, this blanket was the next project I took up.

It’s such a weird yarn to use because it has 4 different textures/styles. But that’s also what makes it so neat because I get to experience these different textures that I (probably) would never use on their own. And what I like the most about it is how quickly it works up since the yarn is so thick! I’m using the biggest hook I own which, I think, is a size P (it’s not marked on my hook). Has anyone else used this yarn? What did you make?

20170202_144517

We’ve got fleecy, ropey, fuzzy, and twirly.

 

Thus far, the only thing that really bothers me is how the different pieces of yarn are connected:

20170203_120439

Bleh.

 

It looks sloppy and unappealing but, in reality, how else can it be connected without threads? It would look even worse if they were just tied together. It does leave you with a few weird spots as you go along, but that’s really only if you get this join right in the middle of a stitch:

20170202_144619

Not too noticeable… unless you’re looking closely.

 

All in all, it’s a very pretty skein of yarn and it works up nicely. I was just trying to make a simple throw to use on the couch so it’s not very big. However, I think I made it just a bit too wide at 90 stitches (~47″) because I’m, more or less, ending up with one row of each yarn whereas I wanted it to blend in a bit more. Kind of like when you’re using a long variegated yarn and you end up with a row of pink, then a row of purple, then a row of blue instead of a mix of the colors together. But I’ve come too far to frog it so I’m going to keep on going. As I’m adding in new skeins, it does change it up a smidge even though I’m trying my best to keep it the same.

20170202_144559

Pretty neat, right?

I’m on my 3rd (4th? I can’t remember…) skein now and am at about 30″ long. But this does work up quickly and if it’s a little shorter than I wanted, that’s okay. It’s not supposed to fit on a bed or anything. Just something to throw on while on the couch playing games or watching TV. I’ve been slightly preoccupied recently so it has been set aside, but I want to start working on it again and finish it up (I don’t want another unfinished blanket like this one).

Aside from this blanket, I’ve been working on some Etsy orders and even did a custom one! But I’m going to make a separate post for that, so keep an eye out! 🙂

Thanks for tuning in! Enjoy the rest of your week.

Rachel

Leave a Reply

