My First c2c Project!

Have you been a part of the c2c craze yet?

I tried it out a few months back to test it out and it is so easy to do! I started using up some Lily & Cream yarn that I had lying around with the hopes that I could use it up and make something from it. I used all that I had, but I only ended up making a couple squares. I then decided to use some old yarn from a frogged blanket and made some squares with that (pictured below) which I still have tucked away under our coffee table. While it was a neat method, I was never motivated enough to make an entire afghan or anything else for that matter.

Until now!

We have a cocktail arcade cabinet upstairs in our game room, and recently my husband has been playing it semi-frequently. One of his favorite games to play is Galaga and I decided that I’d like to make something special for him to compliment the game room. My plan is to make a c2c afghan (or graphgan, if you will) of the ship(s) and some of the enemies/bosses. I’m not planning on making it huge – just big enough to cover someone sitting on the couch.

(Side note: while searching for the Galaga wiki, I noticed that IGN gave it a 3/10 Haha!)

When I first started planning out the graphgan, I figured I would only need to use about six different panels to make the blanket big enough. My panels are going to be 17×18 “pixels” each which seem to measure out approx. 3/4″ per pixel. I am halfway done with my first panel and am thinking I may need to add two more panels to the blanket to make it a decent size since the width is only a little over a foot. But only time will tell. Maybe after the first panel is done I can get a better idea of what I’ll need to do.

Halfway there!

To design/plan out my graphgan I am using the website Stitch Fiddle where you can create your own crochet/knitting patterns, cross-stitch, charts, etc. I have made my 6 charts public if you happen to be interested. For reference, I also have the webpage for One Dog Woof’s c2c tutorial open so I can remember what I’m doing (sometimes my mind blanks haha).

What are your thoughts/opinions on the c2c method? Do you like it? Hate it? If you’ve finished a c2c blanket, or anything else with c2c, I’d love to see it! 

Enjoy your weekend! I’ll be weaving in ends. πŸ˜‰

2 thoughts on “My First c2c Project!

Leave a Reply

